The Local School Advisory Team (LSAT) advises the Principal on issues related to the Local School Plan: what is needed at the school, where we want to be as a school, whether we are there, and if not, how we should get there.

The next LSAT meeting will take place virtually on Tuesday, December 12 from 6:00- 7:00pm.

Meetings are open to the community. Please email if you would like details to join the meeting. Additional meetings are scheduled for January 16, February 13, March 12, April 9, May 14, and June 11.

The Janney LSAT is composed of the Principal, six teachers, six parents, and, at times, a student representative and a community representative. The LSAT supports the Principal’s implementation of the DCPS Teaching and Learning Framework by advising the Principal on matters related to teaching and learning, leadership, job embedded professional development, resources, safe and effective learning environments, and family and community engagement.

The LSAT is an elected body that serves in an advisory capacity to the Principal by:

1. Receiving and making appropriate recommendations regarding the development of the Local School Plan,
2. Monitoring and assessing the implementation of the Local School Plan,
3. Using assessment results to develop and modify specific strategies for school improvement, and
4. Ensuring compliance with established guidelines, contracts, and District rules.

Teacher representatives to the LSAT are elected annually by the faculty. Parent representatives are elected to serve staggered 2-year terms to ensure continuity. Immediate past co-presidents of the PTA serve in an ex officio capacity. Elections for the LSAT are held each Spring.

Meeting Notes

September 19, 2023
October 17, 2023
November 14, 2023

Staff Representatives

Rebecca Reuter, Co-Chair
Danielle Singh
Nicole Ugel
Tawana Franklin
Mike Barnhart
Liz DiCrosta
Megan Hahn
Mellissa Modico
Marquale Royster
Gari Nelson

Parent Representatives

Maureen Perrone, Co-Chair
Mary-Beth Malcarney
Natalie Alpert 
Melanie Douglass
Adaeze Eqwatu 
Rebecca Fertig Cohen

PTA Representatives

Kat Davis
Deanna Lizas